August 26, 2013

  • I got my letter!

    I've been re-reading the Harry Potter books. In fact, I just finished the last book of the series last night. It's kind of hard to resurface back into the real world after being immersed in that world for so long. I have the same problem after reading Tolkien (any Tolkien, not just The Lord of the Rings trilogy). As I finished each book (and around the middle of the last book), we watched the corresponding movie. So yesterday evening I finished the last book and last night we watched the last movie and I went to bed with images of Number 4 Privet Lane, Diagon Alley, Platform 9-3/4, the Hogwarts Express, Hogsmeade, Godric's Hollow, The Burrow, Number 12 Grimmauld Place, Shell Cottage, Malfoy Manor, the Ministry of Magic, St. Mungo's, The Forbidden Forest, and of course Hogwarts flitting through my head. I may have even dreamed about some of those places, but I took an Ambien last night so I don't remember my dreams.

    This morning I was lying in bed after slowly and reluctantly awakening. I grabbed my Bible and read my chapter for today (John 4), then reached for my Kindle and checked my email. And there was my letter. It may not have arrived by owl post, but I was almost as excited as an 11-year-old receiving their first letter from Hogwarts. My letter was from John. (Do you see the symmetry?) I filled out the form and will soon be standing on the platform waiting to be transported to a magical new place - Xanga 2.0. Like an 11-year-old headed to Hogwarts, I'm excited and a little nervous, and a bit sad about leaving behind this place with which I've grown so familiar. Hopefully, there will be many old friends waiting for me at the new place, new friends to be made, and some version of a Marauder's Map to help me figure the place out.

    I hope to see many of you up at the castle!

    I wonder how I would have written this post if I'd been reading about Harry Dresden instead of Harry Potter?

Comments (13)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment