August 24, 2013

  • You know you're in a quality eating establishment when...

    ... you walk in the door and all the regulars are sitting at the bar loudly comparing their probation officers. And when I say loudly, I mean top of their lungs, yelling over each other. I can't really say with any authority that they are regulars since this was only our second time in that particular establishment, but that's the overall impression I got. Anyway, @Bookmark61 and I were trying hard not to laugh at the topsy-turviness of  lawbreakers googling their probation officers to "see what kind of person" they are.

    Once they tired of the probation competition, they began shouting about dirt bikes and engine sizes and what was legal to drive on public roads and the arguments made to law enforcement about the subject.

    This was followed by a shouting match about the virtues of various dogs. I'm gonna go out on a limb and guess they were all hunting dogs. And probably all mutts, which I must concede are the best kind of dogs.

    And then the wedding party trooped into the bar in their froufy turquoise dresses and black tuxedos with turquoise shirts. Except for the groom who was in white, and the bride who was wearing black. It was a pretty dour looking group so the wedding must not have lived up to expectations which, considering the hole in the wall they walked into for the wedding-party-only reception is pretty sad. Because of the way the bar staff was scrambling, and the fact that they called in reinforcements, we were unsurprised to find out from our server that the bar was not expecting to host a 20-30 person reception.

    I left our server a generous tip because the whole thing was pretty entertaining, and I have a feeling the wedding party probably stiffed her. Plus, the service was great and the food was as good as we remembered it from our previous visit.

    I love small towns!

    P.S. Today is @Bookmark61's birthday!

Comments (10)

  • Wow! That sounds like a really entertaining Birthday meal! Probably more so than most of the movies playing! I got your message about next weekend - yay!

  • Is this place in your home town, or did I miss something? Sounds very entertaining! Happy borthday to @bookmark61!

  • It sounds very interesting! ha! Happy Birthday to @Bookmark61

  • There's nothing like stepping out of your comfort zone and reveling in it.  Besides, it's great fodder for the blog!

  • I love teal and turquoise shades, so if I ever get married I might just use those colors. But I'm pretty sure I won't have the reception in a bar! (Although that would be entertaining and unforgettable for everyone).

  • Heheheheh!  That sounds pretty entertaining, although it was probably somewhat distracting from your own celebration.  "The Bride Wore Black" was a crime novel, if I remember correctly.    Good thing you tipped well!  Happy birthday-month to @Bookmark61! 

  • Kind of late to do so, but I should give you a video clip of this scene to help show the blog. 

  • Seems you're feeling better. Good.And I extend the best birthday wishes to Brett on this day!!Happy Birthday Bookmark man!

  • Thank you for tipping her well! 

  • these are the best type ot eating and drinking establishments never a dull moment!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment