April 22, 2018

  • Tiptoe Through the Headlines

    The following poem is brought to you by the National Poetry Month Scavenger Hunt prompt #9: Tip Toe. After much thought, I've decided to post it on Sunday morning and not link it to Facebook. I have enough stress in my life at the moment without friends and family members with opinions that differ from mine giving me flak. My handful of Xanga readers, as well as the aforementioned friends and family members, are welcome to your differing opinions and need feel no obligation to comment. This poem was not intended as a goad, it's just what popped into my head after thinking about the people we tip and writing the first line. It's not really what I thought would come out at all, but it is what it is... my opinion.

     

    Tip the man who makes the drinks,

    For an intro to the minx.

    Tip the driver to hotel,

    Tip the doorman; he won’t tell.

    Tip the scales of decency

    By parting someone else’s sea.

    Tip the bimbo in the room;

    Stormy weather coming soon.

    Tiptoe out the White House door;

    We can’t take it anymore.

Comments (2)

  • Nicely said, Melinda!

  • Hahaha! You made me laugh out loud at Taco Bell! I was very amused by this one (Sparky not so much)!! I think you are ever so clever and have a good grasp of the issues besetting #45.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment