April 20, 2018

  • The End

    lighthouse waves

     

    The first gray hair makes you grumble;

    Arthritic knees cause a stumble.

    You rant and you rave,

    But eventually waves

    Will even make lighthouses crumble.

     

    It comes for us all in the end,

    No matter the prayers that we send.

    There is no recusal,

    Resistance is futile;

    The Angel of Death does not bend.

     

    As existence begins to fade

    And the world turns to graphite shade,

    Regardless how strong

    You fight to prolong,

    The end you cannot evade.

     

    Nobody can escape the fate

    Of reaching their expire date;

    You will get there on time,

    But the joke is sublime –

    At your funeral you will be late.

     

    I hope the title of this poem didn't scare you off. I'm not about to stop writing, leave social media (although that is becoming increasingly tempting), or die (as far as I know). This was a difficult one to write. The NPM Scavenger Hunt prompt was #8. Use these words: resistance, funeral, lighthouse, graphite. Of course, with the word funeral in there, it's an automatic leap to death as a subject. I couldn't resist the absurdity of writing about death in limerick form.

    I've really enjoyed these challenges so far. I think I need somebody to tell me what to write about every day; I seem to be better about blogging when I'm given a challenge. But first, I have seven more poetry prompts to work through.

Comments (6)

  • I like this one. Now that I'm 80 I think about death more than I ever did when I was younger. 80 just Sounds Older than say, 77.

  • I'm aching a bit this week, but hoping another week will be better. Nice weather is coming, surely ~ maybe I can walk it off?

  • On WordPress, there is a daily prompt -- you write poetry or prose. I haven't tried it, but enjoy the entries from people who do.

  • Love reading your stuff! I have been writing more since January. Love you sis!

  • I posted a comment before but I don't think it "took" since I came to xanga via FB...

    The limerick is a worthy vehicle for this topic - it gets the point across!

    Also you are really knocking all of these out of the park!

  • i met this angel tonight, she is a lovely person.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment