July 1, 2016

  • Road Trip!

    I am traveling this week. I left home on Tuesday and headed south for some solo geocaching in southern Illinois, then west to St. Charles, Missouri. On Wednesday morning I drove across Missouri and made it to Kansas City International Airport just as Brett's plane from Philadelphia was landing. The timing was so perfect, I only had to pay one dollar for parking! Brett and I then drove west to Hays, Kansas where we spent the night. This morning we geocached our way across western Kansas. There were several "gadget" caches and creative cache containers. I'll add photos later - I'm really tired tonight and my laptop battery is almost dead and I'm too lazy to get up and find the charger.

    [IMAGINE A PHOTO OF A BIRDHOUSE, A DECORATED LOG, AND A MINIATURE GENERAL STORE HERE]

    One of the caches we found has been on my to-do list for years. It's called Mingo and it's located in the tiny town of Mingo, Kansas. It is now the oldest active geocache in the world. Because thousands of people are converging on the Denver area this weekend for GeoWoodstock, Mingo, Kansas has become a busy place. I wonder if the locals know what the heck is going on with all these strangers taking pictures of a post at the side of a dirt road, or standing in ditches, or diving into the bushes in front of the Baptist church.

    Tonight we are in Colorado Springs. We got here fairly early and thought about heading to Pike's Peak, but it was raining and we were tired and hungry, so we opted to eat at The Black-Eyed Pea and chill (a.k.a. nap) in our hotel room. Tomorrow we will be exploring Garden of the Gods, Tarryall and maybe Pikes Peak.

    When we were at dinner, I asked if they served mixed drinks. Our flamboyant waiter asked what I wanted and I said I like drinks with rum and peach schnapps and fruit juice and he replied he knew exactly what I meant because he likes girly drinks, and that he'd tell the bartender and bring me a surprise. He brought me a bright blue drink the bartender threw together - no name for it - and said he'd told her he had a customer who wanted "a drink with boobies" and the bartender said, "I know exactly what you mean - I can do that."

    [IMAGINE A PICTURE OF A BLUE DRINK HERE]

    It was good and it reminded me of Lake Michigan Water, a drink I enjoyed on Washington Island last year. There was a story about that one and how I became the most popular woman in the bar. Here's the story if you're interested: LINK

    In other news, my Xanga subscription has been renewed because Eugenia is a rock star! So if you don't hear from me for a while, it's because I'm too busy with GeoWoodstock and road trips and other fun stuff, or more likely just being lazy.

     

Comments (4)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment