March 5, 2015

  • Snow & Ice

    We still have quite a bit of snow on the ground. Earlier this week, we had a day that began with snow and moved through sleet and freezing rain, and eventually rain. It then got quite cold overnight and everything that had melted in the rain refroze. So now we have deep snow on the ground with an icy glaze on top. Yesterday the sun came out for awhile. At the end of the day, the icy glaze reflected the setting sun and the snow looked like water, reflecting everything. I wasn't feeling well, but when Brett came inside and told me what it looked like, I grabbed my camera and stepped onto the back porch to grab a quick photo. Our yard was already shadowed and much of the glory of the reflecting sunset was gone.

    DSC08141

    Brett left, but pulled over when he got out on one of the main roads in our area. The snow-covered farm fields on the west side of the road looked like lakes in the setting sun. He stopped long enough to snap a quick shot with his cell phone.

    3.4.15 sunset on ice

    Someday all this ice and snow will melt and that will really be water standing in the field. Today is not that day.

Comments (4)

  • We don't have quite the ice glazing that you have. Great photo of the sun setting and reflecting off the icy field. I hope you are feeling better (I'm hopeful the weather warms soon - I really need to get warm!)

  • Oh my, how very beautiful!!!

  • Another lovely photo. I like the pinkness of the sky in contrast with the whiteness of the house and snow, and the way it is so smooth with the icy layer.

  • Grandiose: only word is needed

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment