March 3, 2015

  • Not Today

    frozen lake-001

     

    The lake is frozen all the way to the horizon. I don't think it's completely frozen all the way across, but hopefully enough of it is frozen to keep lake effect snow bands from developing.

    Getting through February brings us hope that spring is near. Now that it's March, I find myself counting each day closer to summer instead of spring. Each day brings us one day closer to color and warmth. Soon a day will come when I will be able to put away my Cuddle Duds and wool socks, push my sweaters to the back of the closet, and remove the electric mattress pad from the bed. There will be a day when I shake the wrinkles out of my capris and sleevless blouses, shave my legs and oxters, excavate my sandals from the bottom of my closet,  and throw off the comforter to sleep under the merest corner of a sheet. But today is not that day.

     

Comments (14)

  • Sandals ~ I can hardly wait to put away the socks!!

  • Does a comment from California even count? I honestly don't know how you do it. Cold and I are not friends. We are however wearing socks this time of year other than the die hard "flipfloppers" out there. I send you warm thoughts. (pats heart, and points to you)

    • A comment from California always counts! We do it because we have no choice, but we don't have to like it. I bought a new pair of wool socks on Monday. I've worn out two pairs this winter. Sigh.

  • Your photograph is gorgeous. It's got 2 of my favorite things, a tree and a bench. Yes, seriously, I have a folder on my laptop with multiples of each of those subjects. Clouds are another favorite, but your picture needs no cloud to be perfect. Kudos my friend.

    • The sun was so bright reflecting off all that snow and ice, I couldn't see what I was shooting. I just pointed the phone, hit the button and hoped for the best!

  • Working for SallieMae, I occasionally had to spend time in DC. One of the first times I was there was in January -- it was the first time I'd ever seen ducks walking across the top of a pond! Like Lyne, I did have a sweater on most of yesterday, while there was a thin covering of hail on the beach!

    • Hail is more evil than snow. I'm not sure if that's supposed to make you feel better, or me.

  • Beautiful winter photo .
    But , may summer be soon to play geo caching! ;)
    Love♥
    Michel

    • Thank you, Michel. I have been looking at the geocaching maps and dreaming of the day the snow is gone and we can go out and have some fun!

  • Yep, yep, and yep. I had to laugh the other day. One of my coworkers hurt her knee and I had to take a look at it to determine if she needed to go to the health center. She was saying not to look at her leg since she hadn't shaved recently - she had very tiny nubs. I told her to get over it since the hair on my legs was nearly long enough to braid!! I really want to fill in my May geocaching grid... Also we have rooms at the Hampton for Fri/Sat nights for Geowoodstock. We are going to visit my Mother in Philly and maybe have time to stop in Oley... Are you going to visit Beth on your way out or back??

    • Brett is taking Thursday and Friday for vacation days, and Monday is a holiday. We will drive down on Thursday, spend Friday exploring the area, Saturday at the festival and geocaching, and head home on Sunday. I don't think we'll have time for a stop in Oley. I'm thinking about making Saturday a well-rounded caching day; diversity instead of numbers. If I could just figure out the Wherigo caches...

      It will be fun to be in the same hotel. I'll be sure to pack my swimsuit!

  • AND ~ I think they got the "approved" problem fixed between you and me ~ at least your blog is now showing up on my feed ~ :)

  • THAT is an excellent photo!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment