September 17, 2014

  • This Is Why I'm Not Social

    I tend to keep myself fairly busy with volunteer work, tai chi classes, water aerobics, geocaching and other activities. When I’m in a group situation like, say, a party or a water aerobics class, I usually don’t talk much with the other people there unless I’ve been around them enough to feel comfortable. I’ve been going to water aerobics for three or four years now, so I have no problem chatting with the instructor (Betsy) and one or two of the old-timers who are regulars. Tonight, for some bizarre reason, I forgot that I don’t talk to strangers in group activities and was immediately reminded why.

    There were several new faces at water aerobics and the activities director for the pool was teaching the class instead of our usual instructor. She does a more intense cardio workout than Betsy. I like the cardio workouts fine, but they are much more tiring and some of the moves and combinations are kind of complicated. There was an older lady near me in the water who was struggling. After 35 or 40 minutes, she began mumbling about not ‘getting’ a move, or not being able to do it, or not keeping up. I started to speak to her a few times, but didn’t. Finally, because she looked so discouraged and I didn’t want her to give up on the class, I tried to offer her some encouragement.

    “She doesn’t usually teach this class,” I said, nodding toward the instructor,  “It’s usually not quite this intense.”

    The lady bellowed, “WHAT DO YOU MEAN SHE’S NOT THE TEACHER? I STARTED UNDER HER! SHE’S THE TEACHER!”

    Of course the instructor heard the bellow; it could probably be heard in Timbuktu. She looked questioningly at the lady, who bellowed some more.

    “SHE SAID YOU’RE NOT THE TEACHER! I STARTED UNDER YOU; YOU’RE THE TEACHER!!”

    I was mortified; it felt like I was back in fifth grade being tattled on by the class bully.

    “Not on Wednesday night,” the instructor said.

    “YES YOU ARE! I STARTED UNDER YOU!”

    “I only teach on Wednesday night when Betsy isn’t here.”

    “WELL ALL YOU NAKED WOMEN LOOK ALIKE TO ME!”

    So… that moment of sympathy should last me another three or four years.

Comments (13)

  • Hehehe -- crotchety old woman!!! I'm also slow to get to know people in a group, especially when it meets with rudeness like that! I'm so glad that you felt free to talk when we all met in Carpinteria!

  • I believe I heard the shouting woman from Amiens !!in France ( not in Tombouctou !!! :) :)
    LOve
    Michel

  • Wow! I think it was 6th grade though when we had the problem with the class bully! Lol You tried! Love ya sis!

    • Ha! You would know! I can't remember her name; I erased her from my yearbook with nail polish remover.

  • HA! Gotta love people who are completely lacking in subtle social skills. It makes me feel better about my own failings. :)

  • Just too funny!

  • How many naked women were there in the pool and I'm so sorry? lol I'll be back Monday and hope I see you on Wednesday!

  • HAHA! Now I'm sure I don't want to do water aerobics with you! I thought everyone wore suits. Guess not...

  • Very indiscreet. Probably is hard of hearing.

  • Sounds like a hardcore sequential thinking temperament type; everything is taken literally, all is black and white, and anyone who keeps to social convention(which means dishonest) must be brought into line.

    I'd suggest pity for the offender. They probably have much bigger problems than you and more of them than you do. And they probably can't understand why people avoid their company.

    I'm sorry you had to suffer the embarrassment, but there is a reason there are the words 'bar(e)' and 'ass' in the word embarrassment! :-/

  • RYC: You said:

    "As for Harry Potter, people get so focused on the magic in the books when the recurring theme throughout the series is sacrificial love. The last few chapters of The Deathly Hallows makes me come undone every single time I read it."

    Preach it sister! And yes, Harry Potter is a Christ like figure. We Christ followers would do better to follow the example of his love, but rely on the power of the Holy Spirit instead of magic. Thanks so much for taking the time to go through my list! I enjoyed your list greatly.

    Now I think I'm going to have to go and download some new Xanth novels, I'm about 25 years behind, and thanks for reminding of that wonderful series!!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment