October 7, 2014

  • Feeling Nostalgic

    I just finished sorting through a couple of boxes filled with old costumes. Most were Krysten's Halloween costumes; there were also a couple of her old recital costumes, some school project costumes, a few miscellaneous ones, plus some hats and headbands. There were at least a dozen costumes, of which only two were purchased. Four were made by my mother and I made the rest.

    The costumes I made include Snow White, a jester, a fairy with huge butterfly wings, a clown, a pilgrim and Cleopatra. I'd take photos of them to share with you, but they're pretty wrinkled. The butterfly wings are in pretty good shape, though.

    costume

    I must say, I'm impressed with younger self. I am not artsy-craftsy and sewing is always an exercise in patience. I remember struggling with those wings; that fabric was so slippery! The jester hat... the Snow White collar... the pilgrim bonnet... I remember sewing and ripping out over and over. I also remember making costumes that weren't in the boxes I sorted tonight - Sleeping Beauty, Peter Pan, and so many clowns I lost count - mostly for my friends' kids.

    There's no real point to this post; all those costumes were so tiny I was just feeling nostalgic.

Comments (10)

  • You claim you aren't artsy or crafty but I beg to differ! You are creative, innovative and have a keen eye for fun! If I were a kid I'd have killed for those wings!!! It sounds like a perfectly delightful stroll!

  • You are a true artist and those old dear things have claimed your talent to be created .
    Love
    Michel

  • Now that the kids are all grown, are you saving the costumes for grandchildren to have a dress up box? Most kids love to play dress up. Will the wrinkled costumes handle an iron, or are they too old/fragile? I'm sure they have many memories.

  • Love the butterfly wings -- I would agree with others that you are very creative!

  • Amazing how little things can pull us so powerfully into the past. I think you're far more talented than you give yourself credit for.

  • RYC about medlar: medlar and persimonn tree are two species of different families of plants.
    Thanks for your question. I know much now.
    Love
    Michel

  • Hello, I'm Brent, and though I've been on Xanga since 2004, and the transfer decimated my friend and subscriber list. As I see and read things which interest me ,I ask if people mind if I follow. I tend to write mostly prose and poetry , and occasionally add some of my life in not always interesting to many, but it's what I do :)

    Brent

  • The things we do for love! I think the wings are amazing! I always made wings for my kids from white poster board liberally sprinkled with glitter. I used to try to talk them into being ghosts (easy costume!) but they never fell for it. When we were preparing to move to Denmark, I had to go through so many memories. I am a saver, and I had everything from the junk they made in Daycare on up to the present! We do get nostalgic, don't we?

  • Hi, Vi

    In less than a week, my "Account Manager" tells me that my Xanga "Subscription" will be over. I will not be renewing. What became of Xanga 2.0 left me sad and hearing echoes. Even your own account seems pale compared what it used to be.... only one post this month? You used to be daily.

    In any case, I stopped by just to tell you I will miss you in particular my old friend. (not implying you're old... though you were one of the few on Xanga who had a few years on me.... *Grin*) If you aren't already my friend on Facebook, you can find me as Wayne Shuman, living in Taipei, Taiwan. Yeah... 5 years later and I am still here. It's an amazing country.

    Anyway, if the lights go out here at your site, then I guess that Xanga 2.0 honestly was a failed experiment.... one I wish I hadn't invested my money into.

    Yours in Christ

    Wayne "JulieMillerFan" Shuman

    • I've gotten out of the habit of blogging, partly because of the loss of community here, but if I'm honest my blogging dried up before the demise of Xanga 1.0. I feel guilty about not blogging, though, so there's still hope for me. I always have such good intentions...

      Before you let your site die, you can send an email to Eugenia at the xanga help email address and ask for a free six-month extension.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment