September 5, 2013

  • Old & New

    Old & New

    There is a beauty to old barns that captivates me. Where many people might see a crumbling eyesore, I see the beauty of old wood and handcrafting. The days are gone when a farm meant a man and his sons, a few acres of tillable ground, horses to pull the plow and a few animals for milk, eggs and meat. Back then, a big wooden barn and a brick grain silo were sufficient to keep the farm going. Now the old barns are mostly used to park the huge machinery needed to till and plant and harvest hundreds of acres. Ugly tin can buildings store the grain while the old phallus shaped brick silo becomes a metaphor of age and decrepitude. I am happy to see farms surviving in this modern age, but sad to see the beautiful buildings from a simpler age left to crumble in the fields.

    This, of course, is a metaphor for Xanga. I loved the old, simple interface. I am struggling with this new place, trying to be patient and give it a chance to be productive. I feel like I've outlived the era in which I was most comfortable and have turned over the family farm to the next generation. My beautiful old barn has outlived its usefulness and is now just a reminder of how far technology has brought us. But at least the farm has survived. And maybe... just maybe... this old dog can learn a few new tricks before the world completely passes me by. I did, after all, manage to put a photo in two posts now. It's a start.

    Speaking of photos, does anyone know whether our photo files are going to make the migration?

Comments (15)

  • I dunno! There are some neat things in the new xanga! I wish I could edit my theme and save it! It let me edit it and preview it - but it will not activate the changes!

  • According to the big rollout post, photo files will eventually be migrated. There are a lot of features missing yet; we don't even have the functionality of WP.

  • A good post, and a great metaphor! I'm already missing things like messages, and the UI Box, and so the ease of continued comments (and the ability to comment on other commenters), etc.

    I hope to escape the 100 degree heat today by taking some photos so that I can post something new and fresh. Most of my photos, except for the last post and a half (!) seem to have made the migration with the posts, but not in the media library.

  • It looks a little like wordpress to me..

  • patience grasshopper....

  • If this was still 1.0 I would "rec" this post. Nice description and comparison.

    Xanga would suffer a profound loss if you let your 'farm' lay dormant. You have touched so many. I believe that according to what I have seen from you in the year that I have followed you that I might be correct in assuming that you would miss the blogging sphere as well. You are an active woman both online and off. Hang in there, let's let them paint another coat on the barn and continue on.

    Have a good day.

  • I hate this new layout. I really hate it.They can keep my 48 dollars, but don't expect much from me.

    Reset your Skype!!

    • Bricker59 - I don't care for it so far, either, but I'm willing to give it a chance to develop and grow on me. Skype ain't happening as long as I have Windows 8. And the piece of crap webcam that's built into this laptop. I will never get another Dell, I don't care how many stars it has on its customer reviews.

  • How did you get the photo in the middle? wematter was frustrated that all her posts had them to the left and they wouldn't go anywhere else.

    • murisopsis - I didn't use the Quick Press option. When I click on "Posts" and "Add New" there are alignment choices on the tool bar.

  • Everything is so centered. o__o I came over because Nephyo told me 2.0 was up and it's nice to see that I can still sign in to comment (thought maybe I would have to comment through my Twitter account or something). But it's weird because it's different while still looking enough like Xanga to be disorienting.

    • Only the public pages look similar. The private pages are completely alien and not nearly as comfortable as the old site.

  • I hate it too. I'm trying to give them time to polish it up and everything, but as it is right now, regular free WordPress is SO much better. :(

  • Passing on some important information:
    Name Link not Working?

    If you notice that names in comments are no longer clickable and the avatars lead to a ‘not found’ page, do this: Top right, of your screen where your cute lil avatar is, chose Edit Profile. Scroll through and look for the space next to Website. Add in your xanga address (eg. http://myname.xanga.com) and this make it so that your name becomes a clickable link. It still does not work with your avatar image however.

    Try this! It worked for me!
    HUGS!!! :-)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment