August 17, 2013

  • Fordson Tractor

    @Bookmark61 and I stumbled upon some old tractors not long ago. There were orange Case tractors, green and yellow John Deere tractors, and one little gray tractor with red wheels.

    It's a Fordson tractor. Fordson was made by Henry Ford & Son/Ford Motor Company from 1917 to 1950.

    This one has a crank starter and is probably one of the earlier models made between 1917 and 1920.

    I loved the wooden plug in the gas tank. Looks like a field repair to me.

    Just thought I'd share.

Comments (13)

  • Dear Melinda,Thank you for your recent visit, comment, AND recommendation. I love old vehicles. I've owned two "classic" cars. Out here in "the city" we don't see too many tractors. Someday I'd love to tour the midwest with my camera, snapping photos of old tractors, barns, and those wooden signs at the side of the road advertising Burma Shave. (Whoops, I'm sure the signs disappeared a long time ago. LOL.) Love this little tractor. Closest we see to tractors are the overlarge John Deere riding mowers they use at the parks and the lawns of the big mansions up in the peninsula.Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

  • Looks like it would start and help mow some of that long grass.  My dad's uncles had Ford 8N models which all the kids got to drive when we visited.

  • great pictures!! Cool piece of history too. Love the details and the colors. Nice to see you around, life's been pretty busy here too and I haven't posted much. Hoping. :)

  • I don't remember the color of the Ford tractors, but this one is a beauty!   If you ever see an Allis-Chalmers tractor, post a picture please. A close friend of mine was farming with one as early as the 7th grade for his dad.

  • @quest4god@revelife - I posted a photo of an old Chalmers (still in use) in this post from four or five years ago. 

  • @saintvi - Well, that was fun!  You've certainly seen lots of great old buildings and such!   I'd never seen a tractor like that.   The one my friend worked with was a lumbering thing with one wheel in the front, but he was very good at plowing a straight furrow.

  • @quest4god@revelife - Sort of like THIS ONE? It's not a Chalmers, but it's a lumbering old thing.

  • Nice photos! I love the bright red wheels!

  • @saintvi - Here is the link to an AC tractor (1948) http://www.tractorshed.com/gallery/tphotos/c142131_lrg.jpgMy friend's tractor was pre-war though.

  • Your photos are GREAT! Love the contrast of the B&W ones and the brightly color ones! I grew up with farm peoples and have always loved tractors! The old ones are fun to look at and image them working so hard for so many years!HUGS and Happy Whee-kend!!!

  • Thanks for sharing!!!

  • Beautiful.Now cancel Skype and then sign up again. THEY, (not you) need to start over. In this case they need to start over with you. You've done nothing wrong..By the way... I've been loving your raspberry jam, twice a day for 3 days now.  Thank you. Thank you so much.Thom

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment