April 12, 2015

  • Somebody call the Doctor!

    It's been a fun-filled weekend. Last night was Wine & Canvas with joyouswind and murisopsis. It was Doctor Who night.

     

    4.11.15 W&C

    Krysten is an exuberant painter, Val is a meticulous painter, I am a minimalist and a rule follower. Plus I was a little out of it and missed some of the directions. I wasn't happy with my painting at first, but it's kind of grown on me.

    Wine & Canvas is in South Bend, Indiana so it was 11 PM by the time I got home. I was so tired and just wanted to go to bed. By the time I let Boo out and got him settled down for the night, it was 11:30. I dragged my tired body upstairs, put on my spring nightgown, sat down on the bed and my stomach gave out a huge growl. Brett's been on night shift, so our meal routine has been all wonky. I've been making supper in time for Brett to eat before he leaves for work, which means our main meal of the day has been anywhere from 3:30 to 4:30 in the afternoon, which means I've been skipping lunch and by 11:30 at night I'm hungry. So I went downstairs to get a snack, in the dark so I wouldn't get Boo stirred up again, and I took it upstairs to eat, which I never, ever do, but Boo had finally stopped barking and I really couldn't listen to any more of that. I ate my little snack, my stomach stopped growling, I brushed my teeth, walked into the bedroom and started shivering uncontrollably. My teeth were chattering and everything.

    I've been trying to fight off some sort of illness or infection for the past couple of weeks, which is why I was so tired at 11 PM. I'd had chills a couple of nights earlier, but this came on so quickly and it was much chillier. I ended up falling asleep wearing my winter nightgown, with the electric foot warmer turned on, and hugging a heating pad. I was bumming because Sunday was supposed to be a beautiful day and Krysten and I had plans to go biking. I woke up a few times during the night -- that's nothing new -- but I woke up feeling better. Too late to make it to church, but better. So, Krysten and I went to the 3 mile bike trail that runs from Niles, Michigan to South Bend. Three miles was just the right length for me to feel like I'd gotten a little exercise without feeling like I wanted to die. Krysten brought her puppy Jack along and a three mile jog (with a few stops for water and rest) FINALLY wore that dog out! It's the first time in his not quite 10 months of life that he's been too tired to get into mischief, although he was still pulling on the leash right up to the hill near the end of the ride, so she might need to find a longer trail when he's a little bit older.

    4.12.15 bike trail

    That was this afternoon. Tonight I have that burning feeling behind my eyes that is telling me a fever is starting up again. As a special bonus, I have a sore throat. If anyone knows of some weird virus that causes a fever at night, feel free to share that information with me.

    My goal for this week is to rest and recharge because next week is going to be exhausting. The good news is that Brett is back to a regular day schedule this week, so we should at least get back on track with our meals. Maybe my throat is sore because it's mad at me for skipping lunch and eating late night snacks in my bedroom. Yeah... that's it.

Comments (12)

  • I'm really sorry you are still fighting the ick and that you've had a small relapse! Although by looking at the bike trail photo you look to be the picture of health (everyone is smiling)! I love Krysten's painting and like all the "space" in yours - really gives the look of being in outer space. Mine, well it is too white.

    • Today I am hurting from the bike ride. I think the pain in my arms is actually from lifting the bikes onto the racks. My bike is really heavy and my rack has to go really high on the back of the van I have now. I had no problem lifting my bike onto the rack on my old van, but needed Krysten's help yesterday.

      Your TARDIS is the best and I love your swirls. One reason I wasn't happy with my painting was because I thought the orange was too bright. If I wasn't such a rule follower, my swirls probably wouldn't have any orange in them.

  • I like all of your paintings. I also like how different each one is. What kind of dog is Jack? (Aside from being young and energetic.)
    Hope you feel better soon. There are all sorts of weird viruses going around.

  • I love your paintings -- it's really interesting to see how differently 3 people can interpret the same instructions, and yet still come out with interesting art works! I hope you can really relax this week, and feel better by the end of the week. Will get a letter off to you tomorrow!

  • @saintvi: Wow -- it would be fun to see more -- I didn't realize there were 70 people involved!

    • Here is the link to their Facebook photos. They haven't posted the ones from Saturday night yet. LINK

      EDIT: I take that back... the photos from Saturday are posted. You have to scroll down a ways.

  • I finally found you again. You don't come up where everyone else does, I think because I'm not on your list, or something. Anyway, I love the paintings and I hope you are feeling better. That's a really cute pup.

    • I don't know why... I'm following you. Maybe I need to do something else; I'm not very good at this version of xanga. I'm feeling better except for the arthritis pain, which has been worse the past couple of days. Probably from the bicycling, or rather from lifting my heavy retro bike onto the bike rack.

  • There is so much flu and virus stuff going around ~ get well, soon!

  • I hope you feel better now. This link is for making easy apple roses. hugs!

    https://youtu.be/5rGrwvEjZIQ

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment