Month: April 2015

  • Get Your Kitsch on Route 66

    When joyouswind and I began our trip to Arkansas last week, I told her I was making a stop in Wilmington, Illinois to visit the Gemini Giant. I've visited the Giant several times, but Krysten had never seen it. The Gemini Giant is a muffler man; a giant fiberglass statue that once held a giant muffler in his hands. An army of muffler men once dotted American roadsides.

    gemini giant

    The main reason I wanted to stop was to avenge a DNF (Did Not Find) on a supposedly easy geocache hidden just a few feet away. When murisopsis and I went geocaching in Wilmington last year, the area near the Gemini Giant was strung with police tape because of a recent fire and, being the law abiding citizens we are, Val and I did not cross the tape. This time, the tape was gone and Krysten and I made quick work of finding the cache.

    Krysten seemed to really enjoy the Gemini Giant, so I decided to stop at a couple more on our way through Illinois. The next one is my favorite; I call him Wienie Guy, but he's properly known as a Paul Bunyan muffler man. He's holding a hotdog instead of a muffler and stands next to a Route 66 souvenir shop in Atlanta, Illinois.

    paul bunyan

    You haven't really lived until you've driven the length of Illinois right after an ice storm and seen Wienie Guy with giant icicles hanging off his wiener. I have a picture of that somewhere.

    We skipped the muffler man in Springfield because it would have eaten up too much time to get to it. The last one we visited was near Livingston, Illinois at the Pink Elephant Antique Mall.

    harley mm

    You can deduce a couple of things from this photo. This muffler man is smaller than the others we visited. Also, we were enjoying warmer weather 150 miles south of home. There were a few other oddities at this location, including the pink elephant for which the antique mall is named.

    pink elephant

    There was also a giant surf dude (click the muffler man link above and read through the list of known fiberglass giants to find examples), an ice cream cone shaped ice cream shack, and a flying saucer.

    20150418_172121_001If these photos look familiar, it's because seedsower and I visited these same sites on our Xanga Chicks on Route 66 road trip in 2010. I may have even written a post with the same title as this one back then. But we didn't get a peek inside the flying saucer five years ago. In case you're curious, here's what the inside of a flying saucer looks like:

    20150418_172938

    I don't think this one is going anywhere anytime soon. As an added bonus, there was a geocache near the muffler man at this location. I found it a couple of years ago and was able to tell Krysten the general area in which to look and she found it quickly.

    We took a selfie at each stop - the two of us standing between the legs of the muffler men. They all ended up being "crotch shots" and are funny pictures, but I'm not posting them in this post. Maybe not in any post.

  • Ghost Tour

    I've been away from Xanga for a little over a week. I was also away from Facebook, my computer in general, and home. Joyouswind and I made a quick trip down to Arkansas for a combined mini-vacation (pretty much just one night and one morning) and three short visits with my mom. Short visits are best for Alzheimer's patients.

    The mini-vacation was for Krysten. She took a week off from work to go with me and wanted to do something "vacationy" and since we've been celebrating her birthday all month (it was a milestone), I agreed to spend one night and one morning in Eureka Springs, Arkansas. We got off the interstate somewhere in the eastern third of Missouri and took winding, hilly back roads to Mountain Home, Arkansas so Krysten could grab the oldest geocache in the state. I'd already found that one a couple of years ago, but it's a cool cache and we had time, so we did it. As we headed west from Mountain Home to Eureka Springs, we passed through the town of Harrison where, by some quirk of fate, I had cell phone service, albeit with data roaming. We stopped at a tourist welcome center and Krysten found a brochure for Eureka Springs. She was flipping through it and happened across an ad for the Crescent Hotel Ghost Tour and got all excited about it. I'll admit, that was something I'd wanted to do the last time I was in Eureka Springs with Bookmark61, but either we didn't have time or the tour was full - I can't remember. Since I unexpectedly had phone service, I called the 800 number on the ad and purchased tickets for that night's tour.

    We arrived in Eureka Springs around 4:30 or 5:00, checked into our hotel and relaxed for a few minutes. The tour was to start at 8:00 PM and around 6:00 Krysten was getting antsy to find a place to eat dinner so we wouldn't be late for the tour. We considered a few places, finally settling on the Sky Bar on the 4th floor of the Crescent Hotel since it was where we wanted to be. The Sky Bar sounds kind of hoity-toity, but it's really just an upscale pizza joint with a great view. We ordered sandwiches and drinks, were able to eat without rushing through dinner, enjoyed the view from the veranda, and a few minutes before 8:00 we wandered across the hall and sat down on one of the old church pews lining the hallway outside the ghost tour starting point. We waited and waited and I commented that it looked like we were the only ones on the tour. About 8:05, the woman who leads the tour showed up, unlocked the room, entered it and locked the door behind her. A few minutes later she came back out in costume and asked, "Are you waiting for the ghost tour?" We said we were. "The 8:00 tour?" Yep. "Wow, you got here really early! You should find something fun to do instead of sitting around waiting." Krysten asked, "What time is it?" The tour guide replied, "About 7:15." That's when we discovered neither of our phones had switched to Central Time Zone.

    I have a new cell phone - a Galaxy Note 4 - that takes better photos than my camera. The battery was rapidly running down, so we went out to the parking lot and sat in the van with my phone on the charger so I could use it to take pictures and leave my camera in the van. At a little before 8:00 by the van clock - which I'd changed to Central Time Zone around Chicago - we returned to the 4th floor of the Crescent and found quite a crowd waiting for the tour to start. We arrived just as the tour guide unlocked the door and invited everyone to come in and sit down. She told us stories about the hotel known as the Grand Old Lady of the Ozarks and the ghosts that are believed to inhabit it. There is the 17-year-old stone mason from Ireland who died in a fall during construction, the little girl who fell from the top of the fourth floor staircase to the basement floor, the little boy who died of appendicitis, the woman in white who either fell or was pushed from the fourth floor during the hotel's stint as a college for women, the cancer patient from the hotel's stint as a hospital, the quack who called himself a doctor and claimed he could cure cancer, and even the hotel cat who lived there for over 20 years.

    One of the first stops on our tour was the staircase where the little girl fell. Nobody saw it happen, but the banisters are low - built for the shorter stature of the general population 130 years ago - and just from looking at the layout, I'd guess she climbed up onto the railing and tried to stand up.

    2015-04-26 19.13.10

    Poor baby; that was a long fall.

    One of the most haunted rooms in the hotel is Theodora's Room - Room 419. Theodora was a cancer patient during the hospital era. Her room is booked months and months in advance, but on that night, it was empty. We got the special bonus of being allowed to go inside Theodora's Room. Most of the rooms in the hotel have been updated with modern king-size beds and flat screen TVs, but Theodora's Room has been kept painted and decorated in the style of the rooms during the 1930s. The walls are a dark turquoise with gold stars painted on them, like a stylized night sky.

    crescent hotel theodora rm

    According to the tour guide, Theodora likes her room kept neat and messy guests might leave the room and return to find their bags packed and placed in front of the door.

    On the second floor, we heard about Michael, the Irish stonemason who fell during construction of the hotel and landed in what is now Room 218. He supposedly plays pranks on guests and staff members, pulling covers off the bed during the night, getting fresh with the women... nothing vicious. This is where the only kind of scary thing occurred on the tour. Everyone was standing around Room 218 and the rooms flanking it. Krysten and I and a couple and their son were at the end of the group, well back from the doors to the rooms. There was a short hall to our right, at the end of which was a pair of glass doors leading out onto the veranda. As the tour group moved forward, the five of us were trailing behind and just as we were crossing in front of the offshoot hallway, the glass doors banged open and shut quickly - two times.

    crescent hotel hallway

    As we worked our way down the floors, I was getting excited. I've known for several years about the morgue in the basement of the hotel and was looking forward to finally getting to see it. Back in 2005, the TV show Ghost Hunters filmed an episode at the Crescent and captured images both in Theodora's Room and in the morgue. We walked down the staircase to the basement, through the spa area, past the laundry room, and into a narrow hallway.

    crescent basement

    We gathered in the room where bodies of cancer patients were picked up to be shipped home. After a showing of the Ghost Hunters clip, we were divided into two groups. One group went to the autopsy room, and the group Krysten and I were in went to the meat locker, where the infamous Dr. Norman Baker stacked bodies sometimes for months while he continued to bill the families and send letters from the patients who had been duped into signing blank papers when they filled out the hospital admission paperwork.

    After we'd been locked in the meat locker for a few minutes, we were released to visit the autopsy room. It was eerily lit with black lights. Our guide had one of those Ghost Buster gizmos that's supposed to pick up electromagnetic energy. She'd tried to get it to work on the banister of the fourth floor and the door to Room 218 and in Theodora's Room, but it was stubbornly silent. In the autopsy room, however, in front of the locker where the ghost hunters recorded an image, the thing lit up and beeped wildly.

    20150419_211935

    We didn't see anything or capture anything in our photos, but it was fun to visit a morgue in the basement of a Victorian era hotel.

    So, at the end of this long post, you are probably wondering, "Do you believe in ghosts, saintvi?" The answer is yes. I have experienced some very odd things that cannot be explained otherwise. I view time as a panorama, all happening at once. The past is happening over to the left and the future is happening off to the right and I'm somewhere in the middle. Sometimes there's a glitch... a hiccup... a wrinkle in time... and we get a glimpse of what's going on over to the left or off to the right. If it's to the left, it's paranormal activity; if it's to the right, it's psychic phenomena. I know that doesn't explain things like poltergeists (and those doors banging open and shut... twice), but I also believe in a spirit world. I'm a Christian and believing in spirituality is a tenet of my faith. Christians who believe in angels but pooh-pooh ghosts have not read their Old Testament. I have no answer for who opened and shut those doors. Could it be Michael the stonemason? I'm not ruling it out.

    crescent exterior

     

  • Somebody call the Doctor!

    It's been a fun-filled weekend. Last night was Wine & Canvas with joyouswind and murisopsis. It was Doctor Who night.

     

    4.11.15 W&C

    Krysten is an exuberant painter, Val is a meticulous painter, I am a minimalist and a rule follower. Plus I was a little out of it and missed some of the directions. I wasn't happy with my painting at first, but it's kind of grown on me.

    Wine & Canvas is in South Bend, Indiana so it was 11 PM by the time I got home. I was so tired and just wanted to go to bed. By the time I let Boo out and got him settled down for the night, it was 11:30. I dragged my tired body upstairs, put on my spring nightgown, sat down on the bed and my stomach gave out a huge growl. Brett's been on night shift, so our meal routine has been all wonky. I've been making supper in time for Brett to eat before he leaves for work, which means our main meal of the day has been anywhere from 3:30 to 4:30 in the afternoon, which means I've been skipping lunch and by 11:30 at night I'm hungry. So I went downstairs to get a snack, in the dark so I wouldn't get Boo stirred up again, and I took it upstairs to eat, which I never, ever do, but Boo had finally stopped barking and I really couldn't listen to any more of that. I ate my little snack, my stomach stopped growling, I brushed my teeth, walked into the bedroom and started shivering uncontrollably. My teeth were chattering and everything.

    I've been trying to fight off some sort of illness or infection for the past couple of weeks, which is why I was so tired at 11 PM. I'd had chills a couple of nights earlier, but this came on so quickly and it was much chillier. I ended up falling asleep wearing my winter nightgown, with the electric foot warmer turned on, and hugging a heating pad. I was bumming because Sunday was supposed to be a beautiful day and Krysten and I had plans to go biking. I woke up a few times during the night -- that's nothing new -- but I woke up feeling better. Too late to make it to church, but better. So, Krysten and I went to the 3 mile bike trail that runs from Niles, Michigan to South Bend. Three miles was just the right length for me to feel like I'd gotten a little exercise without feeling like I wanted to die. Krysten brought her puppy Jack along and a three mile jog (with a few stops for water and rest) FINALLY wore that dog out! It's the first time in his not quite 10 months of life that he's been too tired to get into mischief, although he was still pulling on the leash right up to the hill near the end of the ride, so she might need to find a longer trail when he's a little bit older.

    4.12.15 bike trail

    That was this afternoon. Tonight I have that burning feeling behind my eyes that is telling me a fever is starting up again. As a special bonus, I have a sore throat. If anyone knows of some weird virus that causes a fever at night, feel free to share that information with me.

    My goal for this week is to rest and recharge because next week is going to be exhausting. The good news is that Brett is back to a regular day schedule this week, so we should at least get back on track with our meals. Maybe my throat is sore because it's mad at me for skipping lunch and eating late night snacks in my bedroom. Yeah... that's it.

  • Baking for Boo

    I have been growing more concerned with the origin and quality of the treats I buy for Boo. I try to be careful about buying Made In USA dog treats, but there are no guarantees where the USA manufacturers purchase their ingredients. So, I decided to start making homemade dog treats. I've been making breath treats for several years now and Boo has always like them. They are made with brown rice flour, activated charcoal powder, fresh mint, fresh parsley and some wet stuff like eggs to hold it all together.

    My first effort beyond the breath treats was a basic dog biscuit recipe. Boo likes them, but I'm not happy with the way they turned out. Too soft... too pale... I have to keep them in the freezer and thaw them out one or two at a time. My next endeavors were more successful.

    dog treats

    The heart shaped treats in the jar on the right are peanut butter, banana and oatmeal. I think there's some honey in there, too, but I can't remember the recipe off the top of my head. Boo loves them.

    The little bone shaped treats in the jar on the left are homemade Greenies. Boo will eat them, but he's not crazy about them. The ingredients include kale powder, wheat bran, coarse ground cornmeal and peppermint. They are good for his teeth and gums and the peppermint helps sweeten his breath.

    The large bone shaped treats in the big jar in the middle are a variation of the basic biscuit recipe. This time I added a cup of finely chopped fried bacon, a tablespoon of bacon grease and an extra egg yolk (only because I wanted to brush the biscuits with egg white before baking). I baked them at a slightly lower temperature for almost three times longer so they would be browner and crispier than the first batch I made. Boo, of course, loves them because... duh... BACON!! I made them 1/2 inch thick because that's what the recipe said, but I used such a large cookie cutter, I should have gone down to 1/4 inch. Next batch...  For now I'll just break off smaller pieces.

    Dog treats are no harder to make than cookies, recipes are easy to find, and it's comforting to know exactly what ingredients are in the things I give Boo to eat.

    DSC08134

    I added this photo of Boo at the request of my friend Michel. This was taken while it was still quite cold and snowy. Boo hasn't worn his sweater for several weeks, since the temperature got above 20 degrees F. He used to love to sit outside in the snow when the temperature was only around 10 or 15 degrees and he would refuse to come inside until I put on boots and went out to get him. Now he is older and the cold makes him shiver. I never thought I'd put a sweater on a dog, but I never had a little dog in a cold climate before.

  • Somebody is Purty Thirty today!

    Today is April 2nd. Exactly 30 years ago today, my life changed forever, for the better. It became filled with a whole new level of adventure, learning, frustration, anger, creativity, cunning, bewilderment, new perspectives, amusement, entertainment, heartache, headaches, uncontainable joy and unconditional love. On this day… well, technically, it was late at night in Hawaii so it would have been tomorrow in Michigan… On this DATE 30 years ago, this beautiful person came bursting into my life…

    Krysten 1985

    … and my life has never been the same… and that’s a good thing.

    Happy Birthday, Cookie! I wish you all of the things you have given to me over the years that have enriched my life. This is not The Mother’s Curse, but The Mother’s Blessing. Because even those times you peed on the ceiling, ran from the police, tried to fly off the mountain, blamed Jesus for eating the chocolate cake, broke curfew, and all the other tests of patience and endurance you threw at us, made me a better parent and a better person. You made me think fast, be creative, step way outside my comfort zone, and learn to respond instead of react.

    Krysten 2013

    Today you are a beautiful, talented woman who deserves to be loved and valued for who you are. But you will always be my Cookie.

    My life is so much better because you are in it!