January 1, 2015

  • 2014 Movie Review

    It’s time for my annual wrap-up of the past year. It probably won’t be much of a wrap-up this time; I kind of stopped keeping track of some of the stuff I usually blog about, like the books I read and my favorite photos. I may be able to scrape up a few photos to share later. One thing I did keep up with was movies I saw at the theater in 2014. I even wrote little five-words-or-less reviews on the ticket stubs. It was not a great year for new movies; luckily, our theater showed a series of “classics” over the summer and I went to several of them. Those were my favorite movies this year, but there were a few new ones that weren’t too bad. Following is a list of the movies I saw and the reviews I wrote on the ticket stubs.

    The Lego Movie - “Awesome!”
    Monuments Men - “Weird”
    Jack Ryan: Shadow Agent - “Uneven. Didn’t like Keira Knightly.”
    Casablanca - “Beautiful”
    North By Northwest - “Loved”
    The Muppets Most Wanted - “Funny”
    Noah - “Not sure what to think.”
    Captain America: The Winter Soldier - “Very enjoyable”
    The Princess Bride - “Wonderful!”
    Roman Holiday - “Loved”
    Maleficent - “Good”
    Jersey Boys - “Fun”
    Earth to Echo - “Terrible movie”
    Guardians of the Galaxy - “Fun”
    The Hundred Foot Journey - “Too long”
    The Box Trolls - “Good - not great”
    Big Hero 6 - “Cute - okay”
    The Hobbit: Battle of the Five Armies - “Disappointing”
    Into the Woods - “Enchanting”

    My favorite for the year, not counting the classics, is probably a tie between The Lego Movie, Guardians of the Galaxy and Into the Woods. All were good movies with solid performances and enjoyable story lines.

    I was disappointed with The Hobbit movies overall. The acting and CG effects were all good, but I didn’t like the cartoon feel to some of the dwarves, I hated the bizarre portrayal of the elf king (which admittedly could be at least partially because every time he was onscreen I was thinking “Pie Man”)*, and mostly I was sad that Peter Jackson did not treat this story with the same care that he bestowed on the Lord of the Rings movies.

    The worst hands down was Earth to Echo. I would have walked out of the theater, but we were at a Drive In. Coming home covered with mosquito bites and reeking of Off just added insult to injury.

    Did you see any of these movies? What did you think of them?

    *For the record, I love the Pie Man.

Comments (6)

  • No, I'm not much of a movie-goer. Most of them are too loud for me. I seem to have very sensitive ears. Or maybe it stems back to when I was a very little girl and my mother took me to see Snow White. Whenever the witch appeared I got got on my knees with my back to the screen, closed my eyes tight, and put my fingers in my ears. I still think that witch is the scariest one I've ever seen (not that I've seen that many.)

  • Of those listed I have seen the Lego Movie, Maleficent, Guardians of the Galaxy, Box Trolls, Big Hero 6, and the Hobbit. I have also seen Cassablanca and the Princess bride before, multiple times, but not necessarily in 2014.

    I hope your 2015 is an enjoyable one.

  • Happy New years!

    I thought the Lego Movie was cute. and I love Roman Holiday if it's the one with Audrey Hepburn. :)

  • Happy New year ,my friend
    Michel

  • I saw Monuments Men and thought it was interesting but yes, it was a strange story but supposedly true. Muppets Most Wanted- agree funny. The Hobbit movie was in a word disappointing. I kind of think they could have done the whole thing in half the time. I mean the book isn't all that long and I just feel like they were dragging it out to get me to plunk down my moolah - which I did... so I feel a little, um, scammed.

  • I am not sure that I got out to any movies this year due to health problems, but I have seen bits and pieces of some of the movies on TV promos, and the Lego movie was one loved by my son, his wife, and three kids. So I may have to see that one! Some of those movies were the old ones, right (as in not remakes)? I've enjoyed The Princess Bride in the past, and probably others of the ones listed.
    That is such a cool idea that you have of donating $ from geochaching to a charity. May you have a blessed and prosperous 2015! :-)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment