Month: October 2014

  • You will be EXTERMINATED!!

    Pumpkin #2

    Dalek

    Hm... I need to make the scraped parts thinner.

  • Don't Blink

    My first pumpkin for this year.

    weeping angel

    Stay tuned for Pumpkin #2... hopefully tomorrow night.

  • Practically Perfect Day

    Today was as close to a perfect day as it gets. It started with a cup of peach tea with honey and a slice of toasted Anadama Bread with homemade apple butter for breakfast. Yum.

    I was able to spend a few minutes visiting with my friend Connie.

    Brett and I went geocaching and found all three of the caches we looked for.

    DSC08005

    The weather was gorgeous.

    DSC08014

    We discovered an interesting place we didn't know was there.

    DSC08017

    And since Brett was there, he made the climb up to get the cache. (I could have made it up the slope, but not back down. Downhill is murder on bad knees.)

    DSC08020

    I had the foresight to freeze some leftover spaghetti a few weeks ago and we got home in time to heat it up and toast some garlic bread for supper before leaving to see a play at the local community theater. The Fox on the Fairway was very funny and well acted. (Absolutely loved the Muriel character/actress.)

    Now I'm sitting up way to late watching Corpse Bride. Such a bizarre little movie.

    Tomorrow and Monday are supposed to be beautiful days too. I haven't looked at the forecast beyond Monday... I hope the weather holds through Friday. It's always so much more fun sitting in the front yard handing out candy and cider when it's not freezing and windy and sleeting.

    What are you up to this weekend?

     

  • Feeling Nostalgic

    I just finished sorting through a couple of boxes filled with old costumes. Most were Krysten's Halloween costumes; there were also a couple of her old recital costumes, some school project costumes, a few miscellaneous ones, plus some hats and headbands. There were at least a dozen costumes, of which only two were purchased. Four were made by my mother and I made the rest.

    The costumes I made include Snow White, a jester, a fairy with huge butterfly wings, a clown, a pilgrim and Cleopatra. I'd take photos of them to share with you, but they're pretty wrinkled. The butterfly wings are in pretty good shape, though.

    costume

    I must say, I'm impressed with younger self. I am not artsy-craftsy and sewing is always an exercise in patience. I remember struggling with those wings; that fabric was so slippery! The jester hat... the Snow White collar... the pilgrim bonnet... I remember sewing and ripping out over and over. I also remember making costumes that weren't in the boxes I sorted tonight - Sleeping Beauty, Peter Pan, and so many clowns I lost count - mostly for my friends' kids.

    There's no real point to this post; all those costumes were so tiny I was just feeling nostalgic.