May 20, 2014

  • Feeling Overwhelmed

    Today I had a gazillion things to do and I only got a million or so of them done. I knew it was going to be hard to get everything ready for our mini-vacation to GeoWoodstock. Our daughter moved last week, and the day she finished moving, our houseguest arrived. I knew it would be hard, but I was sure I could do it. Then I hurt my knee and could barely walk. Today it's somewhat better, giving me hope that maybe I won't be completely crippled on our geocaching jaunt.

    But then, while our houseguest was still visiting, my aunt died and Bookmark61 and I found ourselves discussing options. You see, we will be in northern Arkansas before coming home so Brett can attend his alumni banquet, but we are only going to be there for one night. We were trying to decide if it would be better to come home from Arkansas and then I'd have to turn around and drive back a couple of days later, or take two vehicles to GeoWoodstock and the reunion, or drive in one vehicle and I would stay behind in Arkansas and he would rent a car to drive back to Michigan. We had decided on taking two vehicles when I got word that the memorial service will be a couple of days later than expected. Then my cousin in Chicago offered to carpool with me, so we changed our plans. We will be in Arkansas for one day, drive home, and a couple of days later I'll drive to Chicago and my cousin and I will go to Arkansas together.

    That leaves me rushing to do the grocery shopping, find a birthday gift for my mom, bake bread to take to my uncle, make munchies for the road, get my hair cut and colored, do the laundry, download geocaches, change the bedding, catch up on Grimm and Bones, go to chorus rehearsal and quartet rehearsal, hopefully make it to a water aerobics class, and think about the possibility of maybe packing a suitcase. I thought I might have to go to the doctor for my knee, but I decided since it felt better today I'll tough it out. There is no time in my schedule to be sick or injured.

    I was going to bake cookies tonight, but I'm too tired; I'll have to squeeze that in tomorrow or not do it at all. May is becoming one of those months when everything seems to pile on. I think we're going to have to stop planning geocaching vacations in May.

     

Comments (7)

  • But the geocaching vacations are the most important part of your life -- that's when you get to relzx! I'm sorry that things are getting so piled on! You'll get through it, but you may have to let go some of the smaller things like baking cookies!

  • Oh No!!! don't stop baking cookies maybe you could skip the water aerobics...

  • at least your list of things that you have to do sound sort of fun... well, except for laundry perhaps and changing bedding, but they are jobs that always need doing regularly.
    Try not to stress; enjoy your friends at choir and quartet, enjoy the smell of the baking bread (and maybe cookies), relax at the pampering of having your hair done. I think I get my hair cut once every year or 2, and I color it myself with a box of nice and easy in the shower. It's not as fun perhaps, but it's cheaper. I know you want to look your best, otherwise I'd remind you that your family would love you whether you were a red head, a brunette, or even grey, whether your hair was short short, or down to your shoulders. Anyways, all will work out. I am glad you figured out the car situation. That seems like the biggest decision and that parts done now.
    Enjoy your Geocaching, and may Brett have a good reunion with happy memories upon seeing old friends.

  • Yikes! I made Sparky send you the list for the geocaches.. I do hope your knee holds out for the weekend. We will be on the road tomorrow by 7:00 AM and then do caches in all the IN counties along the west side of the state. I will call or message you tomorrow so we can try to coordinate - maybe meet up for lunch?

    • We will probably be a couple of hours behind you. The dog daycare doesn't even open until 7 AM, and I have to put chili in the crockpot before we leave so it will probably be 8:00 or later by the time we get on the road. I downloaded Sparky's Indiana caches and we'll skip some of them in order to catch up to you. I'm packing a picnic lunch.

      I don't think I'm going to attempt Queeny Park. I seriously could barely walk until yesterday. Today the knee is better, but I've got pulled muscles in the rest of my leg from limping. I've been putting heat on the back of my leg and ice on my knee.

  • Enjoy your geocatching with Val!
    Love
    Michel

  • Tis Sunday
    In all your haste
    and all your sorrows
    take but one single moment
    and connect with The One
    The Grand Architect
    The Universal Compass
    and you will glide effortlessly
    to reveal the greatest cache
    Divine Love
    May God's Love be with you today
    and always

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment