April 29, 2014

  • Conceit

    Okay, this poem requires some explaining before you read it and think I’ve gone off the deep end. I was drawing a blank on the subject of conceit (Prompt #29 for the NPM Scavenger Hunt), so I did my usual first step toward inspiration and Googled. That’s when I discovered that “conceit” is a form of poetry that involves a metaphor carried to a bit of an extreme. Here’s a link to the Wikipedia article: LINK  So I now had my inspiration, but what subject and what metaphor to use? I decided to go all out and write a love poem using a ship at sea for the metaphor. I then Googled parts of a ship and got my info from this site: LINK

    I had great fun writing this poem, which is a spoof of a conceit.

    ship

    Like curling waves my true love’s hair
    Caresses lofty brow
    His eyes are stormy ocean depths
    His nose a noble prow
    His sturdy shoulders like a keel
    Are strong and wide and true
    His manly legs like tall mainmast
    Are straight with mighty thews
    Though in the stern and spanker sail
    A wind gust may occur
    When bowsprit turns to flying jib
    He makes the cathead purr

Comments (9)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment