April 26, 2014

  • Oil Changes

    Oil that is spilled in the sea
    Changed by dispersants can be
    Miselles form a lump
    Causing oil to clump
    So picking it up is easy

    Another oil alteration
    Is bioremediation
    Bacteria eat
    The oil as a treat
    A molecular satiation

    An oily mess in a pot
    Will break down with heat and salt
    But the quickest solution
    For oil ablution
    Is dish soap and water hot

    Today's NPM Scavenger Hunt topic is #26 Oil Changes. I wrote an educational poem about what can create a molecular change in oil, and for some reason, the only form that would work for such a serious subject was the limerick. In my usual ten minutes of deep research on Google, I found that scientists have only recently discovered that glycerin, a common ingredient in soap, is useful in cleaning up oil spills. If any of them had ever cleaned the kitchen at home, they would have known that soap and hot water are the easiest way to break up oil to clean a greasy pot.

    I am about to jump in the shower, wash my hair, get dressed and be at the tai chi studio in time for World Tai Chi Day which is at 10 AM in whatever time zone you are in today. We will do tai chi for about an hour, and then I'll come home to let Boo outside before meeting a friend to introduce him to the joys of geocaching.

    Bookmark61 and joyouswind are at ComiCon in Chicago today. Actually, it's called Chicago Comic & Entertainment Expo, or C2E2. ComiCon is easier to say.

    I hope your Saturday is fun and oil-free.

Comments (10)

  • Oil is an organic and naturally occurring compound and in nature there are all sorts of oil consuming critters. Your poem reminds us of that. GOoooh NATURE!

  • Limerick or not this is a marvelous poem! (I have such a hard time writing limericks - don't know why.) I was amazed when Dawn first came out - it really made the grease disappear!

  • I know you love your geocaching, but I'm jealous of your wife and daughter; I would love to be at C2E2!

    • My husband just got home and I am so glad I didn't go. I hate cities and they had a difficult time getting to and from the parking garage and then it was wall to wall people at C2E2. I, meanwhile, had a peaceful morning doing tai chi and a lovely, quiet afternoon on a nature trail.

  • I love your limerick-y poem! It was fun to read outloud AND it is very educational!

    I like how between all of us (all those writing poems) we covered most everything oil-related. :-)

    I like hearing about how they use Dawn soap to wash those animals and birds who have been covered with oil because of oil spills. :-)

    Oh, I bet your family is having a blast at ComiCon! :-)

    Enjoy all your day's fun, too! :-)

    So far my weekend has been fun and oil free! :-D

    HUGS!!! ;-)

    • I also enjoyed that we all had a different take on the subject. I don't think dog hair is going to be as versatile.

  • Oops I had meant to say your husband, not your wife; I'm glad you knew what I was talking about.

  • I came looking for your dog hair post but stayed for the chocolate cream pie.
    Mine is,
    Three Dog Night, "Easy to be Hard", From the musical album "Hair"

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment