April 21, 2014

  • Tomatoes

    Tomato

    Solanum Lycopersicum
    Seems a silly name
    For the fruit of a plant
    In the nightshade family

    Love apple
    Seems a sinister name
    For a fruit once thought
    To be deadly

    Tommy Toes
    Seems an unappetizing name
    For a fruit on the salad
    I am about to eat

    Call it a tomato
    Or even a tomahto
    Either way
    It’s a saucy fruit

    I love fresh from the garden tomatoes, no matter what you call them. Sliced and lightly salted, tomatoes are the taste of summer. You remember summer... that mythical season of warmth and sunshine your grandparents told you about. Ha! How quickly we (I) forget our (my) bitter complaining about the excessive heat last summer.

    This is my entry for today in the NPM Scavenger Hunt using prompt #21 Tomatoes. The photo is courtesy of Wikipedia.

Comments (4)

  • Whatever the name , the important is the delight we have to eat the juicy sweet tomatoes from our garden.
    Love
    michel

  • You can have all the raw tomatoes! I prefer the cooked sauce or catsup... Great poem today (educational and fun too)!

  • I like my tomatoes right out of the garden, still warm from the sun...but we call em maters =)))

  • beautiful picture you found.
    I am not a huge fan of tomatoes, but in my older years, I can tolerate them in small bits. I think it's odd that I am not fond of them whole or sliced, but diced, or made into sauce, soup or ketchup, I like them.

    My mom used to grow tomatoes in a variety of colors, red, yellow, and orange. The green ones were sat in the window sill a day or two to ripen without any birds or bugs biting them first.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment