January 16, 2014

  • Lincoln, Pilate, Applesauce, Aliens and Boo

    It's been a full morning, of which all those disparate people and things listed in the title have had a part. After struggling with aches and pains yesterday, I am feeling better today. I've about decided to blame the weather for my achy days. It seems whenever the wind chill gets down in the zero to sub-zero range, my joints mount a major protest, regardless of whether or not I stick my nose out the door. Which I didn't yesterday and probably won't today because Thursday is my big cooking day.

    I did get some stuff done yesterday, including the next-to-last module of online Red Cross training I've been working on. That is what I blame for my painful hand. I take notes while going through the training, and my right hand just won't hold a pen anymore without pain. I am going to get serious about trying to have something done about that this year. I usually try to avoid surgery, but this is getting ridiculous. Although, forks and spoons are also getting difficult to hold and that might not be such a bad thing for awhile.

    I also finished up the third alien in the scarf I'm knitting. Thankfully, the knitting needles don't seem to cause my hands too much pain. Here's the half-done scarf:

    3 aliens

    I'm hoping to make good progress on alien #4 today when I'm not in the kitchen.

     

    I tried to take a selfie with Boo this morning. He was uncooperative. I know, big surprise. We did a lot of this:

     

    1.15 Boo 1

    "She's on the floor! Playtime!"

    A bit of this:

    1.15 Boo

    "I want to lick your face! Pleeeeeeeze let me lick your face! Your face is my second favorite thing to lick!"

    A little of this:

    1.15 Boo 2

    "You're choking me!"

    And finally, after I'd given up:

    1.15 Boo 3

    "Hey, look! A camera!"

     In other news, there have been tears of both joy and sorrow shed today. I got word that a sweet, gentle, kindhearted man I knew from my time acting in The Great Passion Play in the late 70s and early 80s passed away this morning. I knew him as Pontius Pilate, but after I left he went on to play the Christ role.

     

    David Bland Pilate

    That was a very fun time in my life and David's death hit me harder than I expected. I didn't know him well, but he is one of those people who is strongly associated with my memories of the Play.

    In happier news, I am a great-godmother! My nephew/godson and his beautiful wife welcomed their firstborn into the world this morning, a son named Lincoln. I've kind of lost count of all my great nieces and nephews; somewhere around 20, I think.

    And now I should have whiled away enough time for the butter to soften. Time to throw together an Applesauce Spice Bundt Cake with my last jar of homemade cinnamon applesauce.

Comments (4)

  • I'm so sorry to hear that your friend has died. And it is wonderful that there is a new life - Lincoln is a good name! Anything you make with homemade apple sauce is going to be exceptional!

  • Glad you're feeling a little better -- I hope the winter continues to get easier on your joints! We definitely are beginning to pay for our lovely weather, though, with a bad brushfire that began this morning.

  • Aw, Boo is adorable. It's very hard to take photos of my mom's corgi - he sits perfectly still until you point a camera at him, and then he moves just as you hit the button. Same with my cat. Blech.

    I'm afraid I'll get to your point with my hands one day. I don't type the way I'm supposed to, all ergonomically correct, and when you add in cross-stitching or crocheting or writing by hand or any of the billion other things I like to do that involve my fingers, some days the muscles really ache.

  • You are coming along well with the scarf, and the applesauce cake sounds yummy. I am glad they are things you can do that don't bother your hands. I am sorry they are hurting so.
    Pets aren't always the most cooperative with pictures, but your smile shows you had fun nonetheless, and you did end up with a couple shots.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment