January 10, 2014

  • Aliens!

    I was inspired by murisopsis to try something new with my knitting. We spent New Year's Day with Val and Sparky. We even took Boo with us to play with Ranger, but poor old Ranger just couldn't handle Boo's level of obnoxious energy. Val wanted me to show her how to purl, so I brought some yarn and needles with me, reminded myself how to do it, then showed Val how it's done. Except I showed her in English style and Val knits in Continental style, so in the end I wasn't very helpful. But it did inspire me to try to knit something besides dishcloths.

    Years ago, my friend Cammie showed me a scarf she was knitting for her brother and I decided I would attempt to do something similar. I searched online until I found a book with the pattern, stopped at a yarn shop while I was out running errands before the polar vortex hit our area, got two shades of yarn and a set of the right size needles, and began trying to learn how to add in a color while knitting. This took several tries and I had to do a lot of ripping out and starting over, but eventually I did it right and began knitting nicely striped rows of black and gray.

    DSC06810

    Pay no attention to that curled end. I accidentally purled a row I should have knitted.

    By throwing in some carefully placed purl stitches, I am creating a hidden design in the striped pattern.  This is called Illusion Knitting, and even a beginner like me can do it. Here's the first section of my scarf from a slightly different angle. Do you see the design?

    DSC06811

    It's easier to see from the other side.

    DSC06812

    It looks like I got confused on a couple of rows of knitting and purling, but for a first effort I'm pretty pleased overall. The finished scarf will have six alien heads. It reminds me a little bit of The Silents in Doctor Who, which is why I opted for gray yarn instead of the green recommended by the pattern.

    Silent

    I got this pattern from the book Stich 'N Bitch which I downloaded onto my Kindle Fire for only 4 or 5 bucks. I was able to open the PDF file for the pattern and send it to my HP wireless printer using the ePrint app. There's something very satisfying about using all this modern technology to create something in one of the most ancient crafts still practiced.

Comments (7)

  • Well, the blog title kinda gave it away...but I'm really impressed!

  • I was thinking myself that a sock might be a tough try after doing only squares. A scarf sounds like a good idea. I like the idea of a hidden picture. That definately doesn't sound like beginner work. Have fun.

  • Wow! I really want to do that! Guess I'm going to have to watch those videos on purling again and again until I can figure it out!

    • If you have a Kindle, get the Stitch 'N Bitch book. She explains it well, and gives instructions for both English style and Continental style. Plus you get the pattern for the alien scarf.

  • that is cool Vi. I put some art on my site,too. A poster from my wall.

  • Meh. No kindle just a stinking Nexus 7 that is in the shop for repairs AGAIN! At least it is owned by the University so I don't have to pay for it. I posted my artist here on Xanga since I will read fb but never post there - it is too difficult for me. I can do lots of technology but that (facebook) isn't worth the time...

  • Very creative pattern...I just finished knitting a baby blankie for our new great grand daughter.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment