November 12, 2013

  • Not According to Plan

    The plan for today went like this:

    • Murisopsis was going to drive up from Indiana in time to go to my Tuesday morning tai chi class with me.
    • Bookmark61 was going to drop Boo off at the doggie daycare before leaving for Indiana to catch his flight to Chicago.
    • Val and I were going to spend the day hiking and geocaching at Fernwood Botanical Garden.
    • Brett would land in Chicago and catch his flight to North Carolina.
    • Val and I would find a nice place to eat, chat and warm up after a day spent in the woods.
    • I would pick up Boo from daycare and we'd have a nice, quiet evening at home watching movies.

    The reality of the day thus far:

    • We woke to this:

    11.12.13 snow 1

    According to the bird feeder pole, 15" of snow. Brett says the pole has sunk over the years, so 14" of snow.

    • All local schools are closed.
    • Tai chi was canceled.
    • I called Val and canceled our day of hiking and geocaching. She was surprised because 30 miles south of us they got nothing.
    • I called the doggie daycare and canceled Boo's reservation. They said I probably couldn't have gotten into their parking lot anyway since the plow hasn't made it there yet.
    • I spent the morning digging out the vehicles.

    11.12.13 snow 2

    My van. I shoved most of the snow off, but spent more time on Brett's truck since he had to leave.

    • Brett spent the morning shoveling the driveway.

    11.12.13 snow 3

    Brett is 6' 1" tall. There is more than a foot of snow on top of his truck.

    • I got to try out my new Bogs boots for the first time. My feet remained warm and dry.
    • Brett got to try out the 4WD on his truck for the first time. He managed to get out of the driveway.

    We were happy to hear from Val that her area is clear since that's where Brett is catching his first flight. I'm guessing that the lake effect snow band probably stops about five miles south of The 'Duh. But for those five miles, Brett will probably be very glad to have 4WD.

    Today has not gone at all according to plan. I'm trying to decide how to spend my day now that the plan has gone out the window. Maybe I'll do some baking.

     

     

Comments (12)

  • OH MY WORD!
    Wow that's a lot of snow so sudden. As I was reading I was thinking that Your and Val's day sounded much more fun that Brett's with he just driving and flying and dealing with various airports, but then I kept reading and saw the pictures. I am sorry you gals cannot enjoy your planned adventure. I do hope that Brett, and everyone traveling up there are safe. I am glad he has 4WD.
    Baking sounds like a good alternative plan for your snow day.

  • if the lake gives you snow - make snow ice cream!!!!

  • Time to head south. Even birds know better...

  • Is it winter already? I hope Brett's trip to Indiana was safe -- enjoy your baking!

  • Baking! A lovely idea :) .

  • Oh my goodness SNOW

  • We are currently having a few flurries - no accumulation to speak of. I went shopping for yarn - I never knew. I probably looked like I was some sort of OCD zombie. I touched every skein, straightened the shelves when I found an orphan... Has a lady ask me if I knew where the crochet hooks were located. I decided to come home and bake chocolate mint chip cookies. I hope Brett's connecting flight in Chicago hasn't been delayed...

    • Brett made it to Charlotte on schedule. I wimped out on the baking. Ended up going outside to take a few pictures, doing a little writing and a lot of thinking about writing, and dozing on the couch with Boo snuggled up next to me (after all the little balls of snow melted and his fur dried). Did you find a jacket?

  • I smiled at musrisopsis' touching all the yarn. I do that with stuffed animals. It's not only a tactile thing but if I touch one, the others might get jealous. hehe. But I've also straightened out messy shelves at stores for no reason other than to make it look right. Some people are just slobs at retail places. RE-FOLD a shirt you opened to look at the size and shape of, for Pete's sake (I had a grandfather named Pete but I never knew the true origin of that saying)

    Thanks for the update that Brett's flight went ok.

  • We had snow today too! But nothing stuck and it was only just enough to mess up the AM commute. Ah, lake effect snow. My aunt in Ohio gets dumped on every year.

  • wow, you sure got a lot of snow. We had a dusting and I thought it was too much.

  • Tuesday night I might have thought we were in for some real snow because in the hour that we spent in Bible study, the ground was completely covered...(I live near Charlotte) but I'm pretty sure his flight had no problem landing - thankfully.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment