August 12, 2013

  • Purple

    There has been much anticipation in our backyard this summer. The purple has finally begun to show up, meaning anticipation will soon become glorious reality.

    We haven't seen many butterflies yet, but now that the butterfly bush is fully engaged, we are beginning to see some yellow swallowtails and a few smaller butterflies.

    The blackberries are ripe, huge and sweetly delicious. We don't grow enough to make jam or anything, but we can grab a few berries off the bushes for a quick snack or to toss into a fruit salad.

    The grapes have begun to get sweet and may be ready to harvest this week. I have no plans for them; I may just give most of them away this year.

    The plums are not quite ripe enough to pick, but in a couple of weeks I will probably have an abundance of sweet little plums which I will probably also give away unless I get brave and try to make plum brandy or something.

    Not all the purple is in our yard. I stumbled across this building in a tiny town not far from The 'Duh.

    Have you seen any purple lately? Post photos if you are able.

Comments (12)

  • Beautiful purples, Vi -- plums make wonderful jam! And the grapes look really yummy!

  • Plums = yum! I have a recipe somewhere for a plum flan and I'll bring my brandy recipe next weekend - remind me 'cause I'm old!

  • Plum brandy is pretty much the national drink of Serbia :)  I almost bought a bottle of it this weekend... but with a $33 pricetag, I decided against it, even though it would have been perfect for nostalgia and for myself being a Slovak Serb. 

  • Plum brandy! Plum pudding! Plum jam!

  • Lovely, delicious looking purple!   

  • The most purple I've seen lately was on this blog..........:)

  • The first photo ( Buddlia) is superb.Yes time of blackberries and their jelly starts.For the plums take care to the wasps !!About purple , I have a daughter who loves that color for her clothes and tthe decor of her appartment .Love michel 

  • purple or do you PURPLE? I like that building

  • Those grapes remind me of my grandpa's farm.  He grew grapes for his own wine.  They were HUGE concord grapes.  Eating them right off the vine, glorious.   Thank you for the color purple. 

  •  This blog has made me hungry for fruit.

  • purple is a good color

  • Your butterfly bush is much prettier than mine with white flowers. Great photos and great raspberry jam in my mailbox too this week! Thanks so much!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment