June 8, 2015

  • Crossing a Line

    I know I said I was going to celebrate every single one of my years on my birthday, but I suddenly realized that today I am officially closer to age 60 than I am to age 50. It’s a sobering thought. I never thought of 56 as being any kind of milestone birthday, but here I was getting all depressed about crossing an age marker. So, I pulled up last year’s Birthday List and it cheered me up. I also ate birthday cake for breakfast (because calories don’t count on your birthday), and that cheered me up, too.

    On Friday I got a birthday card from my mother-in-law that made me laugh.

    BD card

    I laughed even harder when my husband came home from work looking bummed and gave me this.

    BD cake

    Even though I shamelessly ate birthday cake for breakfast, I’d like to think I’m more like the cake than the cat; battered by circumstances, but still with something good to offer. In that spirit, here is my annual birthday list of good advice, lessons learned, and things to work on, with something new added for this year. Read, enjoy, and most importantly, learn from your elder who has paved the way for you!

    1. Start eating healthy while you’re still healthy.
    2. Start wearing sensible shoes before your feet, knees and back get bad.
    3. Dye your hair the color you always wished it was.
    4. Drive with the windows down and don’t worry about your hair getting messy.
    5. Take that road trip you’ve always dreamed of.
    6. Learn a craft or develop a hobby that will engage you when you’re bored.
    7. Keep in touch with aunts, uncles and cousins, no matter how busy your life becomes.
    8. Get off the interstate and take the back roads.
    9. Stop hiding from the camera.
    10. Adopt a pet from an animal shelter.
    11. Learn how to cook three things really well.
    12. Do volunteer work, even if it’s only an hour a week.
    13. Get all those digital photos printed.
    14. Write letters using paper, stamps and envelopes.
    15. Do something that frightens you.
    16. Make a conscious effort to smile at people.
    17. Walk with confidence.
    18. Look for moments of beauty, joy and gratitude each day.
    19. Keep a journal, even if it’s boring.
    20. Appreciate a boring life; excitement is usually related to disaster.
    21. Think before you speak.
    22. Think before you blog.
    23. Think before you post those photos online.
    24. Never, ever send naked photos to anyone. Never…  Anyone.
    25. Reuse what you can.
    26. Recycle what you can’t reuse.
    27. Send postcards to your friends when you travel.
    28. Act silly in public.
    29. Take selfies with children; you will be the coolest grownup in the room.
    30. Walk in the woods.
    31. Stargaze.
    32. Mail funny birthday cards to your friends when it’s not their birthday.
    33. Call your mother.
    34. Listen when your parents or grandparents tell you stories about their lives.
    35. Learn to play an instrument.
    36. Taste new foods.
    37. Retry foods you didn’t like when you were a kid.
    38. Sing Christmas carols in June.
    39. Buy yourself flowers for no particular reason.
    40. Always keep a road atlas in your vehicle.
    41. When you get lost, make it an adventure.
    42. Learn to be alone without being lonely.
    43. Sing in the shower.
    44. Sing in the car.
    45. Dance when the spirit moves you.
    46. A good mattress is one of the best investments you can make.
    47. Paint your toenails an outrageous color.
    48. Watch as many sunsets as you can.
    49. Play in the rain.
    50. Eat chocolate without guilt.
    51. Go to a movie at a drive-in theater. (Take lots of bug spray.)
    52. Wear earplugs at concerts. You’ll thank me later.
    53. Keep your cookie jar filled at all times.
    54. Always keep Bandaids and ice packs on hand.
    55. Look for the good in people.
    56. You are allowed to eat cake for breakfast on your birthday.

Comments (9)

  • Happy Birthday ! ... and a great list, so many good things we should all try . The age thing has effected me much more than I ever realized it would.

  • Happy birthday to you; happy birthday to you; happy birthday dear Melinda; happy birthday to you! I started to pick out favorites from your list, and it's such a great list that I couldn't find just one or two! 56 is a great age -- and life goes on from there ~ ~ ~ Happy birthday, and hugs!

  • Happy Birthday!
    I like that your list has 56 things, one for each year. (I like your funny photos too.) I am wondering what outrageous color your tonails are this week. :D

  • @Crystalinne: I bet they are "Kinky in Helsinki" or her other favorite "Limbo Bimbo"! hehehe!

  • Happy Birthday!!! I tried to send you greetings on FB but it wouldn't let me. I really am starting to hate FB (not that I ever warmed to the idea). Did you get my card??

    • Thank you for the birthday wishes! I haven't gotten the card yet because... The 'Duh... It'll show up eventually.

  • My toenails are a pretty shade of blue. I really really need to get the photos on my computer printed.

  • Oh my ~ the cake! :D Happy birthday ~ my age numbers are the reverse of yours ~ 9 years older ~ and it isn't bad at all ~ yet ~ :)

  • happiest of bdays Viv! thank u for your contributions and sound knowledge. I would bet that u played your music loud and danced with abandon, or I hope u do!!!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment