February 20, 2015

  • Hibernating

    The weather here in my little corner of Michigan has been, to use the scientific term, sucky. The unrelenting snow is pretty typical for this miserable time of year. The cold is bitter even for February. My van has a mountain of snow covering it; I haven't left the house in three days, except to walk to the post office yesterday in sub-zero wind chill. I had a piece of junk mail and a reminder of a dentist appointment in my mailbox. Woot! It snowed again all night last night. This morning it looks like the sun might be shining, but it's too cold to open the drapes and blinds to check it out.

    I'm going to have to go out eventually to buy groceries... today... I don't wanna! I've spent a big chunk of my hibernation baking - Amish cinnamon friendship bread, white bread, Anadama bread, chocolate chip cookies, cakes, buttermilk biscuits, dog biscuits... I've done something I haven't done in many years; I ran out of flour. Just another reason I need to do the grocery shopping today. I have a new cookie recipe I want to try, and I want to experiment with the dog biscuit recipe. (I'm really tired of worrying about what is in Boo's store-bought dog treats. You can't even trust the ones that say Made In USA anymore.)

    I'm still in my pjs and robe, but I've created a 2-week menu, put together a shopping list and clipped virtual coupons. Now, if the bathroom is warm enough, I need to take a shower, pile on layers of clothing, shove the mountain of snow off my van, and slip and slide my way five miles to Meijer. I so, so, so don't want to, but the temperature has risen from -7 to +5 degrees and I should get it done while the sun is shining and it's above zero.

     

Comments (7)

  • It is nice that your post office is within walking distance, but it hardly seems worth it for the 2 pieces of mail you received. Brrr.

    Baking is good. It makes people happy, is tasty and warms the house. I used to bake a lot of muffins or flavored breads, but I haven't this year. Perhaps I should. The house could use some warmth and yumminess.

    My uncle used to bake his own dog bicuits. The first time I found out, I was young. He was holding one in his mouth to share with his dog, then he ate another. I was grossed out, til I found out he made them himself, with natural ingredients and nothing yucky.

  • My daughter came and took me grocery shopping today. Brrr! I was like you. I just HAD to do some shopping. We shopped for my mother too. Actually she wanted to go with us, but we wouldn't let her. A 97 year old little old lady has no business being out in this! I am so thankful to have an attached garage. We don't have nearly as much snow as you do.

  • I hope you remembered to get everything you needed and don't have to make another trip. Sparky drove me to work 2 days this week - door to door service. He didn't want me walking 15 minutes in the cold... My ceramics class was cancelled and they didn't tell us so I showed up only to find it was closed. At least Meijer's was open!!
    Also got the card and pathtag in the mail! Thanks so much!!!!

  • The gap is narrowing because the length of a day is inflating: days are getting longer (think of the addition of leap seconds over and over and over again). So those "good ole days" are ever shorter by comparison.

  • It seems we have been frozen in for soooo long ~ longing for a warmup!

  • It is so cold than I have an icicle hung at my nose . It is almost true

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment