December 6, 2014

  • Name the Christmas Movie!

    I've been watching some of my favorite Christmas movies. In fact, I'm watching one now and a character just said one of the lines from this Christmas movie quiz I posted last year... and the year before that... and I don't know how many times. Luckily, nobody ever remembers this stuff from year to year. Here it is again, with my usual disclaimer: Not all of the movies are actual Christmas movies; some are just set at Christmastime. How many can you recognize without Googling?

     

    1. “Only one thing in the world could have dragged me away from the soft glow of electric sex gleaming in the window.”

    2. “I’m sorry I ruined your lives, and crammed eleven cookies into the VCR.”

    3. “I been savin’ this money for a divorce, if I ever got a husband.”

    4. “Oh, well, now I'm off to get my life-sustaining supplies: cornmeal and gun powder and hamhocks and guitar strings.”

    5. “Think nasty, think nasty, think nasty!”

    6. “We’re gonna die! We’re gonna die! I’m going to throw up, and then I’m gonna die!”

    7.“In some ways you’re far superior to my cocker spaniel.”

    8. “I never liked a girl well enough to give her twelve sharp knives.”

    9. “Seeing is believing, but sometimes the most real things in the world are the things we can’t see.”

    10. “Let me drive.” “No, you’re drunk.” “You always get to drive.” “That’s because I’m the sheriff, a**hole.”

    11. “Hey, we’re flexible. Pearl Harbor didn’t work out, so we got you with tape decks.”

    12. “The only thing you need to worry about is where you’re going to buy your sweaters when the circus pulls out of town.”

    13. “Light the lamp, not the rat! Light the lamp, not the rat! Put me out! Put me out! Put me out!”

    14. “I’m only an elected official here, I can’t make decisions by myself!”

    15. “Hiya kids. Here’s an important message from your Uncle Bill. Don’t buy drugs. Become a pop star, and they give you them for free!”

    16. “Guys, I’m eating junk and watching rubbish! You better come out and stop me!”

    17. “Can I refill your eggnog for you? Get you something to eat? Drive you out to the middle of nowhere and leave you for dead?”

    18. “But… but maybe he’s only a little crazy like painters or composers or… or some of those men in Washington.”

    19. “There is no such thing as rich enough; only poor enough.”

    20. “You mustn’t mind the tree monsters. Their bark is worse than their bite.”

Comments (5)

  • I'm not going to spoil it by answering - I really do need to watch the Muppet Christmas again as it has been a couple years. And Elf since Sparky hasn't seen it all the way through!

  • I have to admit that I don't recognize any of these (but I don't watch many movies, either. I'm amazed, though, at how sinister they all sound to be included in Christmas movies!

  • Wow ~ no clue ~ but makes me kind of glad we don't watch very many movies ~ they don't sound very appealing for such a beautiful time of year ~ :(

  • I think I recognize the first one only. Is that referencing that weird leg lamp in Christmas Story? I think the only thing that would pull him away was the BB gun? I saw the movie once and hated it, then saw it as a play years later, which I appreciated much more.

  • I also only got the first one, and I watch christmas movies alot - but the same ones over and over! Hope Your Christmas was Bright!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment