September 3, 2014

  • Cascade

    I took a shower this morning and noticed that the shower curtain liner needed to be washed, so I will be up late tonight mopping the kitchen floor.

    Some of you probably do not require an explanation for that statement; for those who do, read on.

    The buildup on the shower curtain liner and the bottom of the bathtub eventually reaches a level that even I can see while in the shower without my glasses. And even I, with my high tolerance of disgusting bathtub gunk due to my low tolerance for scrubbing things and the fact that we generally only use that bathtub for showering, saw, was repelled, and took action. Vini, vidi, vici.

    The first step, of course, was to remove the shower curtain liner and stuff it in the washing machine with some hot water and bleach. In removing the liner, I had to remove the decorative shower curtain and I noticed it had acquired some dirty smudges, so I removed it for washing as well.

    That was the easy part; the bathtub, however, presents several challenges. My low tolerance for scrubbing things is mostly caused by the pain in my knees, hands and wrists from arthritis. I can’t kneel on the floor and I can’t grip a scrub brush for very long. For the bathtub, there is the added complication of the tall side of the tub, making it somewhere in between excessively difficult and impossible for my short arms and shorter waist to reach over the side to the bottom of the tub. So I have to get creative, which means rolling up my pant legs, standing in the tub and pushing the scrub brush around with my foot.

    Mission accomplished; tub clean; pedicure ruined.

    Now that the tub is clean I thought I should grab the opportunity to disinfect the jets. This is an easy process of filling the tub with warm water to a level above the jets, dumping in some bleach, pushing the button to turn on the jets and letting it run for awhile.

    Done.

    Except as I was filling the tub, I remembered the last time I did this, and how I walked into the bathroom to turn off the jets and discovered they’d been shooting water all over the walls, cabinets and throw rugs. So I removed the rugs, the scale, the hamper and the trashcan and swept the floor before turning on the jets.

    Okay, I’m in good shape now.

    Except with all that stuff off the floor, I can now see how grimy the tiles have gotten and I really should mop. I learn from past mistakes, though; I’m not mopping until the jets are finished.

    And then I’ll be done.

    Except I’ve got a bucket of mop water that’s only been used on that tiny bathroom floor and maybe I should mop the kitchen floor while I’m in mopping mode.

    Except I wanted to make cookies today and that will probably get flour on the floor so I should wait until after I make cookies to mop the kitchen.

    Except I have to teach a class tonight, which is why I’m making cookies, and I have to be there by 5:30 which means I have to leave at 5:00 so I won’t have time to mop the floor until after I get home around 10:00.

    So, to recap:

    I took a shower this morning and noticed that the shower curtain liner needed to be washed, so I will be up late tonight mopping the kitchen floor.

    It makes perfect sense.

Comments (5)

  • Unfortunately, it does make sense. I'll think of you while I'm sitting around and getting ready for bed tonight.

  • Reminds me of the children's book series: If you give a mouse a cookie where one thing leads to another. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gyk55GYnGl0
    I tend to just throw my shower curtain liners away and pick up a new one at the Dollar Tree. I don't have jets in my tub, but perhaps next time you clean them, you can wait til there's a shower curtain back up so if it sprays, it contains itself within the tub area. This was a funny yet exhaustive read. Make sure to allow yourselfr one of those fresh baked cookies. yum.

  • *sigh* I do know what you are talking about. It makes sense the same way making baked potatoes results in changing the sheets... a long story but in the same vein.

  • It does make perfect sense! And that's how cleaning becomes a full-time chore! Do eat at least one cookie before you go to bed!

    Val -- you'll have to tell the story about changing the sheets because you baked a potato!

  • I'm simply pleased that you do not lose yourself in the process. I hope you do not mind if I do not attempt this process myself. I would lose the heart of the matter before getting to the second paragraph of your explanation.

    In fact I can't honestly remember the point you originally set out to make. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it, and had a good chuckle, but by the time I finished reading I forgot the point. As long as you knew where you were going and arrived at the result you wanted that's what counts. For me it was a lot of fun running round in circles. :-D

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment