July 30, 2014

  • Still Alive

    I'm still sick, but finally feel like I might be starting to pull out of it. The fever appears to be gone and my lungs are not hurting anymore. Still coughing and my voice bounces between being very low bass or a raspy whisper.

    It's a sign of how badly I've felt that I have been drinking hot tea. I hate tea, so I went through a box of samples and found Celestial Seasonings Wild Berry Zinger (I think that's the name of it) that has a strong enough berry flavor to almost mask the icky tea flavor. Then I put enough honey in it to completely mask the icky tea flavor.

    I've also been gargling with warm salt water in which I stirred a bit of apple cider vinegar. Yuck. Plus I've been slathering Vicks VapoRub on my chest and throat at night.

    You will notice that the one thing I didn't do was go to the doctor. I'm tired of wasting my time going to the doctor. I have to make and appointment weeks in advance to see my doctor. If I'm sick, I have to go to the walk-in clinic and see whoever is on duty that day. I have absolutely no relationship with my doctor because I only see her for a few minutes once a year. And the walk-in clinic doctors and PAs always just tell me to keep on doing what I'm doing and send me on my way $20 and 4 hours poorer than when I arrived. I've never seen a worse system except for the military dependent's clinics I opted out of the second I was allowed.

    Anyway, I'm still coughing, but it's not waking me up at night. My voice is croaky, but it's not completely gone. I'm very light-headed, but I haven't fainted or fallen. I've barely got enough energy to get dressed and come downstairs, but it's more energy than I had a few days ago. So things are looking up.

     

Comments (4)

  • I am sorry that you have been so sick. That is never fun. Unlike you, I love hot teas, but since you don't, may I recommend mint or herbal teas which have none of the "icky" tea taste since there is no actual tea in them? I have noticed however that many herbal teas do not take well to adding milk or creamer (they will curdle. ew), however they do taste good with a little pink packet of sweet n low. I'm one who isn't thrilled about going to doctors as well. I will raise a prayer for your continued recovery.

  • You use ancient ways to heal but this needs long time .
    But they avoid the sempiternal antibiotics to keep for very serious case.
    All of my wishes of quick and complete healing
    Love
    Michel

  • Argh! I didn't know!! Does this mean you won't be coming to the big Five-O Gee-O this Saturday?? I was hoping you and Brett might want to meet in the morning to knock off some of the 7 Souvenirs of August caches... I hope you are improving in leaps and bounds.

    • I am hoping to make it to the event, but not sure I'll be up for much geocaching. The cold is getting better, but my energy is not improving.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment