April 16, 2014

  • Youth

    I worked sporadically all day yesterday on a rhyming poem for today's NPM Scavenger Hunt topic - #16 Youth. This is what I had by late last night:

     

    Old folks hold it to be fact,
    A universal truth,
    That money, time, and being young
    Are wasted on our youth.

    The younger generation, though,
    Believe, if truth be told,
    That all they are, and love, and do
    Are wasted on the old.

    I wasn't very happy with it, or maybe I was just tired, feeling ill, and not in such a flippant mood anymore. So I wrote a one sentence poem in a more pensive mood.

    When we say youth is wasted on the young,
    it is just our wistful acknowledgment
    that youth is the time we
    dreamed wildly,
    loved passionately,
    acted impulsively,
    hoped irrationally,
    and lived life fully.

    If I wrote two poems for today, does that mean I can skip a future topic? I have no idea what to write about steeples. Oh well, I guess I'm still young enough to hope irrationally that something will come to me at the last moment.

Comments (4)

  • I liked both poems, Val said we could pick and chose...personally I'm still working on the Celestial Jerusalem prompt, I've learned a whole lot but putting it in any sort of poetry is a challenge of major proportions for me.

    • I know we don't have to do them in order, but I'm so scatterbrained lately, having the prompt number the same as the date helps me keep track of which ones I have and haven't done. But if I ever get really stuck, I'll skip ahead.

  • I'm pretty sure you will noodle out a poem on steeples! I loved both of these (kind of 2 versions of the same poem)! On another scavenger hunt a long time ago we were taxed with writing a poem on the same idea 5 different ways - that was really hard! you get double credit for this one but you still can't skip one... I know you really want to get them all!

  • Both good poems!
    The first one was a joy to read aloud!
    And it's words are so true!
    Your second poem says to me, that no matter how old we get...we should still love and dream and live life to the fullest each day!
    You're doing great with the prompts and poems!
    HUGS!!! :-)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment