April 15, 2014

  • Wind Chimes

    Williwaw
    Idyreus
    Norther
    Doctor
    Churada
    Haboob
    Iapyx
    Mistral
    Elephanta
    Squamish

    We have a set of wind chimes on the front of the house. We've had them for so many years I can't remember when we got them; I think perhaps during the Navy years. I love those wind chimes. We bring them inside when winter winds begin howling around the corner of the house, banging the wind chimes against the siding. They hang in the corner of the living room door frame all winter and I never realize how much I miss the sweet, gentle chimes until my husband hangs them out again in the spring. One spring day in 2004, a violent storm sped across the lake so quickly we had very little warning. The wind was gusting around 90 mph and noon was as dark as midnight. Some trees fell on our house and one of them broke my beloved wind chimes. My sweet husband took a log from that tree, used some of the wood to rebuild the broken pieces and restrung the chimes. In the years since, he's had to replace his rebuilt parts a few times. He just cuts another piece off the log, drills some holes in it and strings the chimes through it. I am listening to the sweet music of my wind chimes as I type this. A bird is singing outside the window behind me. Boo is snoozing beside me. It's a peaceful morning.

    This is my entry for the NPM Scavenger Hunt using prompt #15 Wind Chimes. The poem is a list of names for different types of wind, forming an Acrostic poem. The Acrostic poem is a variant of an Abecedarian poem. My muse has left me; this was an act of desperation. I'll try to do better next time.

Comments (3)

  • Good
    Rad
    Excellent
    Amazing
    Terrific poem!!! :-)

    Cool and smart and creative on using the types of wind! :-)

    I love hearing about your wind chimes! I have two made by friends, and I love listening to them!

    I've not been branching out much to learn and use new (to me) styles of poems (not enough time in my day), but I sure have enjoyed writing a poem each day! So far, they seem to be coming to me and I just write them down. I think poems are birthed! :-)

    HUGS!!!
    :-)

  • That will teach a tree to fall on the house! I'm glad your chimes are singing still, and the birds are making music too. Boo is probably softly snoring as well... I wish I could say my day was as peaceful! I keep chanting "two more days".

  • Very nice! There's something very soothing about wind chimes, but I don't have many out because of the proximity of neighbors!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment